Moisturizer Hunt

For the longest time I’ve used Olay Complete All Day Moisturizer with SPF 15 (easily found at drug stores, grocery stores, and Target) as my base for my daily face routine. I remember in high school flipping between a few types Neutrogena and a couple others from Olay before settling on the sunscreen and moisturizer combo. This product has sat on my vanity every day since.

Recently, after reading some of the skincare routines of some of my new favorite bloggers, I thought it was time for a change.

This post only marks the beginning of my search for the perfect moisturizer. I decided to start off with all the samples I have accumulated over the past few months from Sephora, Birchbox, Glossybox, etc. I’ll provide a short review of each one for anyone looking to upgrade their moisturizing routine!

  

My Multi-Purpose Mattifying Moisturizer

I started my quest with a deluxe sample I had received from Birchbox. The Multi-Purpose Mattifying Moisturizer from My is a daily moisturizer which boasts numerous benefits. The brand as a whole focuses on Pili Oil which comes from a tree native to the Philippines. The moisturizer contains both Pili and Moringa oils which help smooth, restore, and revitalize skin with omega fatty acids and vitamins. The moisturizer also claims to smooth fine lines and wrinkles.

Upon immediate application, I was happily surprised by this moisturizer. My face instantly appeared smooth and matte. While the consistency was thick coming out of the tube, it felt lightweight on my face. As the day went on, my skin began to feel a little irritated but this could have been from the cold weather.

Score: Overall, I liked this product! I am pretty intent on finding a product that has these types of benefits plus SPF, but I really did like this moisturizer. I’m not sure how I feel about the $68 price tag for the 2 fl. oz. tube, especially for daily use, but it wouldn’t hurt to keep around to use once or twice a week.

Koh Gen Do Oriental Plants Emollient Cream

This high-end cream came to me in a Glossybox. The consistency is rich and thick, definitely living up to its emollient moniker. However, the product feels amazing once you let it absorb into your skin. I applied the cream to a freshly washed and dried face before bed and let it work its magic.

Score: While seeming to be a great deep moisturizer, the downside to this product is the price tag. This product retails at $123 for a 1 oz. container. As someone who likes to shower in the morning, the time it takes for the cream to set in is not ideal for my rushed daily routine. I’ll keep the deluxe sample jar around for the winter months when my face needs an added boost of moisture.

Le Metier de Beaute Replenishing Daily Solution SPF 30

This product surprised me. For the longest time, Glossybox was including this each month for subscribers and touting it as a miracle cream. I thought, surely, this wouldn’t be the case. The product itself is a pale pink hue, which is also odd for a moisturizer. However, the SPF I was looking for was also there, which was a plus for me.

Score: This product felt very refreshing on my face and didn’t grow to be oily as the day went on. It layered well with make up and didn’t seem to react poorly with my skin. However, with the fancy name comes the fancy price tag. The product retails for $225 for a 1.70 oz. container.

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre

The origin of this sample is a toss-up. I could have gotten it from Sephora or Birchbox. Regardless, it is a highly rated product, beloved by many. However, I’m really happy I managed to hold onto it because I love this moisturizer! I read online that it also works as a make-up remover which is awesome in a pinch. I found myself turning to this before my regular daily moisturizer and soon had used up the entire little tube!

Score: I think we have a winner (for now)! I happily ordered the full size from Sephora which was $28 for 2.54 oz. Pages of reviewers rave about this product so I am excited for it to arrive and find its place on my vanity. While it is pricier than my Olay, I know its multi-dimensional uses will be helpful. The SPF factor is missing, but since we are moving into the winter months, and my foundation has SPF, I feel confident that I will be fine.

I think that’s enough for now! For now I’m going to stick with the Embryolisse but will always be hunting for new ones to try! Share with me your favorite moisturizer or emollient cream in the comments! I’m always up for suggestions.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

