Noir Necessities – tarte Review

I have long been a fan of loyalty programs. If I shop at a store, even once, I find myself very willingly giving my phone number, email address, and other information to the cashier and walking away with a shiny, plastic card for my keychain that I never use again.

However, there are a few stores that I have grown to truly value their programs and take advantage of the rewards included. Sephora is one of these stores.

After recently reaching the brands middle rewards tier, Very Important Beauty Insider, I took the time to spend some of those points I had been racking up. I was excited to snag a limited edition tarte sample kit. I used all these products together to get ready for a Sunday football party at my boss’s house…enjoy!


Opening Act Lash Primer

I’ve used a couple other lash primers before after receiving them as samples. Overall, this product worked pretty well. I curled my lashes and then applied the primer. It didn’t dry out my lashes too much so the mascara went over pretty smoothly. I think the brush tip on the wand is a little too long but it is manageable. I look forward to trying out this product with my regular Buxom mascara to see how it fairs.

Best In Faux Lash Extending Fibers

This product was very foreign to me. As someone who has always been comfortable with their lashes, I only ever used lash enhancing products for theatrical performances. The instructions start with applying the Lights, Camera, Lashes, 4-in-1 Mascara first and then quickly patting the little fibers onto the wet lashes. You close out the routine by applying another coat of mascara. However, as many other reviewers experienced, the mascara that comes with the fibers is too dry for the fibers to stick to it. I am eager to try out some of the tips others recommended on Sephora’s website.

Lights, Camera, Lashes, 4-in-1 Mascara

Overall, this was a pretty standard mascara. I am very fond of my Buxom mascara from Sephora. I love the brush tip on the wand, it is a great shape for getting in bed of the lashes. However, this tarte mascara worked well for the day. As I said above, it isn’t the best formula to use with the fibers but I would be willing to use it as an alternative.

Lights, Camera, Lashes Closeup Lash Liner

This was probably my least favorite product of the kit. The liner is dry and the sample kit size of the tube makes the point very thin. The point of the liner broke off many times while I was applying the color. I prefer a creamy, highly pigmented liner. From what I can see from other reviewers on Sephora’s website for the full-size product, it seems like it is a hit or miss product. The point on the full-size product seems larger so that might have solved those problems for me. The product did end up lasting pretty well for most of the day but did begin smudging later on.


LipSurgence Lip Tint in Classy

I’ve used this product before after receiving it in another Sephora sampler. It’s not my favorite lip crayon but gave it another try when it reappeared in this kit. I love the mini size because as with the rest of the products in the kit, it makes it easier to slip into a purse or clutch. It’s not the longest lasting product, but applies rather smoothly to clean lips. I don’t recommend using right after a balm. If you need to moisturizer your lips for a smooth application, use a mattifying solution or let the product absorb prior to using the lip tint. I have to say, I was more impressed with this product after using it in this kit.


Overall, this set is cute! I highly recommend if this is available in your beauty rewards store on Sephora’s website!

4 thoughts on “Noir Necessities – tarte Review

Leave a Reply

