Macarons + Gel Manis

While online Christmas shopping, I ran across this adorable gel manicure kit! Le Mini Macaron is a gel kit that was launched via funding from Kickstarter in January 2015 and has made a splash ever since. They now offer a wide variety of colorful sets, individual gel polishes, and remover kits on their website.

IMG_6799

I’m absolutely in love with my Le Mini Macaron kit in “Cassis”. The kit itself is adorable and comes with the following:

– LED lamp with USB cord and power charger
– One bottle of gel polish in a matching color (10 ml/0.33 oz)
– Cuticle stick
– Mini nail file
– 10 remover pads
– Detailed instructions

The LED lamp plugs right into the USB port on your laptop but also comes with a wall adapter for when you aren’t near your device. The gel polish is a all-in-one formula that requires no base coat or top coat. The remover pads come in convenient little pouches that you simply place your finger in for 10-15 minutes to release the gel polish from the nail.

For the reasonable price of $35 (plus shipping), I was pleasantly surprised by the quality! I have limited experience with at home gel application and have never had it done in a salon. My deep plum manicure remained glossy and chip-free for about a week. I followed the application instructions as they directed, only deviating to use my own buffing block to prime the surface of my nails.

The little lamp’s light activates for 30 seconds when you press the small power button on top of the “cookie”. I applied two thin coats, curing each for 30 seconds, working with one nail at a time. Once I was done with all the nails, I cured each nail a for a few more seconds for good measure (again…gel newbie here). I think I could have done with another coat but I was anxious to see the outcome. I would love how to see how this color would look with a sparkly gel topper.

IMG_6794IMG_6797IMG_6798IMG_6800

Overall, I highly recommend this product! Such a great deal and the sets make adorable gifts. I purchased one in “Grape” for Brigitte at Color Me So Crazy for Christmas and can’t wait to see what she does with her kit!

Leave a Reply

