February 2016 Ipsy Glam Bag

I finally broke down and joined Ipsy! I have tried various beauty subscriptions in the past (Glossybox, Birchbox, and one-off boxes such as ones from Zoya, Julep, and Target). I had heard great things from Ipsy but one of the main reasons I cancelled my Birchbox subscription a year ago was because I was simply getting too many of the same types of samples. While there is no guarantee that this same thing won’t happen, I’m already impressed by my first box. For starters, I didn’t receive a perfume sample in the bag — huge plus! I have so many perfume samples so it was nice to receive other items in the bag.

The bag itself is adorable! It is a great quality cosmetics bag and I can’t wait to use it to transport makeup, jewelry, other small toiletries, etc. when travelling! The month’s theme was Pretty in #IpsyPink so I had to pair my polished rose quartz stone with these pretty, girly products!

Above is a swatch of the trèStiQue Baby Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral. I love this little cream-gel blush stick! It is highly pigmented and a great travel size. The full-size retails at $34 but is on sale today as a deal of the day for $28! The full-size version comes with the trèSwitch Contour Brush in the end of the stick! It is hidden with the help of trèStiQue’s patent pending magnetic cap design. My mini version did not come with this feature, the pink end twists to release more product.

I had never heard of this brand prior to receiving this product in my Ipsy Glam Bag. TrèStiQue’s goal is to simplify makeup for women on the go and enhance natural beauty instead of covering it up. You can pair their high-performance makeup products with their built in tools that cut down on bulk when packing up your makeup.

I highly recommend you try this brand out and visit their website to learn more about their unique products!

Ciaté London is one of the nail polish brands that I have had the opportunity to use many times in the past. I own numerous shades from them and was happy to receive a mini bottle of one of the Olivia Palermo x Ciaté London Nail Collection shades in my Glam Bag. The shade I received is “Sundays – my off duty nude” and is shown in two coats above. I like this pale pink/nude color for everyday nails. I love having shades such as this one in formulas I can rely on for when I do nails for ladies looking for a more simple look.

Ciaté mini bottles retail at around $9 at Sephora and the full-size bottles are typically around $20-$24. The mini bottles are a great way to try out a new polish, topcoat, or effect without committing to a large amount of product.

I had been hoping to receive one of the Trust Fund Beauty nail polishes in my bag as I have been dying to try this brand!

IT Cosmetics is another brand I had not had the chance to try prior to receiving this bag. I received the Bye Bye Under Eye Anti- Aging Concealer in Neutral Medium. I swatched it above without blending so you could see how substantial the product is. This truly is a full-coverage concealer product. Containing hydro-collagen, vitamins C and K, this concealer has anti-aging and corrective properties as well. This is a great concealer for those looking to cover more substantial blemishes and dark areas. It is highly-pigmented but is crease-proof and doesn’t feel heavy on the skin.

You can join this brand and help them spread the word about their products by becoming an IT Girl Superhero! Join today and start earning points for your chance to win IT Cosmetics products!

This lip gloss is probably the product I will use the least in the Glam Bag. While I do use glosses from time to time, mostly layered over lipsticks or stains, I tend to go for more of a matte lip look. I love matte or cream lipsticks and occasionally will get some shimmer from lip colors laced with glitter. However, VINTAGE by Jessica Liebeskind Sparkling Lipgloss in Pink Sequin has a nice hue.

I swatched it above for you on my lips (excuse my otherwise un-make-uped face) and find that it has a nice shimmer and color when applied in a couple thin coats. The full-size retails at $21 and comes in three other shades.

VINTAGE by Jessica Liebeskind looks to redefine modern glamour by combining detailed workmanship with high-quality formulas and textures. All the products are updated and relevant versions of classic beauty styles, bringing unique designs at non-designer price points.

The final product in my box, which I did not swatch for you, is Cake Beauty‘s Heavy Cream Intensive Hand Repair Balm. Cake Beauty is one of Canada’s most iconic independent beauty brand with various bath, body, beauty, and haircare products. While this hand cream is currently sold out on their website, you can find it on Amazon for $22 for the 3.4 fl. oz tube. This wasn’t my favorite product in the box, as I really need a highly moisturizing product for my dry hands. I wash my hands a lot at work and moisture is quickly drawn out of my hands while swatching makeup and nail polish. I did love the smell and from the reviews on Ipsy can see that this product is loved by others!

Overall, I was very pleased with my first Ipsy Glam Bag! I look forward to seeing what my March Glam Bag has in store for me!

Do you subscribe to Ipsy? What did you receive in your February Glam Bag? What were your thoughts? Share in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

