Rub a Dub Dub – Bath Time For Your Makeup Brushes

Hope everyone had an amazing holiday weekend! Please be sure to let me know in the comments if there are any products you would like to see me review or any beauty topics you want me to provide my thoughts on!

The most important part to any makeup routine is making sure you take care of the products you spend your hard earned dollars on. Makeup brushes and tools take a beating every day doing their best work to make us look glamorous! When I first started my blogger journey, I didn’t have a specific plan for cleaning my brushes, just that I knew I needed to. Being a procrastinator at heart, it wasn’t until a few particular products came into my life that I devised a true strategy. This post is all about those products, so if you have any questions about any of them, let me know in the comment section!

IMG_7352

The first product I want to tell you about is the Prism Brush Bar. This is an amazing all-natural product out of Canada that I have truly fallen in love with. I have the Original Aqua Aura Brush Bar (which is unscented) and it has changed the way I clean my brushes. Prior to using this, I used to use shampoo or in a pinch hand soap.

The creators at Prism Brush Bar’s goal is to provide the public with a natural, effective, and easy way to clean makeup brushes. The ingredients help to not only prolong the life of your brushes, but also have natural benefits for your skin. The little bar makes it easy to use the perfect amount of cleaner for your needs and lasts longer than liquid options. Check out their website as they have recently expanded their lines to include other scents, colors, and sizes! The next bar I intend on trying is the Sol Brush Bar which is a “PRO size” to better clean larger brushes and last longer for more intense makeup fans.

I use my Prism Brush Bar with my Sigma Spa Express Brush Cleaning Mat about once a week to clean my brushes. I love this mat because I can put it in my sink, turn on some warm water, and go to town ridding my brushes of makeup, dirt, and oils that can cause my face to break out. If you want to see a video of these two products in action, head over to my Instagram. You can purchase your own Sigma Cleaning Mat for $25 on Sigma’s website or through Amazon. They also have a larger mat, which retails at $32.

IMG_7068

Now, I would love to tell you that I wash my brushes with my Prism Brush Bar between each use. But life happens, work happens, and fun times with friends happen. Luckily, I have a few other products that help me get through the busy weeks.

I keep a travel bottle of brush cleaner by my brush holder at all times to spray brushes I use to apply cream products (primarily concealer or my NYX Wonder Stick) after use so they don’t stain or get too much product build up. I have various brands I use for this including e.l.f. and Japonesque. These are great for quick clean ups after I am done with my makeup, but don’t dry right away, so I can’t use the brush again for a few hours.

For super quick changes of color or product, I keep the cult favorite Cinema Secrets Makeup Brush Cleaner on hand. This product is amazing. It quickly rids brushes of all product and the bristles dry almost instantly (especially for less full or smaller brushes).

The downsides to this product are few, but exist. First of all, the smell is rather overwhelming. I was warned by my Instagram makeup artist friend, Megan, of the smell before I even ordered this product. It takes some getting used to, but if you use nail polish remover or acetone frequently, you shouldn’t have an issue. I have seen some comments where users of this product found it dried out their brush bristles too much. I haven’t had this issue, but also don’t use it as my primary brush cleaner. The price of this product ranges from $8-$36 at Sephora, depending on the size bottle. I bought the set that included the cleaning tin which is super helpful when cleaning brushes packed with dark eyeshadow or bronzer.

I also keep the Sephora Mini Solid Brush Cleaner on hand (pictured above) for travel or if I get into a pinch and forget my Prism Brush Bar. It comes with a mini scrubbing mat (similar in appearance to the Sigma Cleaning Mat) which you can use to clean brushes easily on the go, as long as you have a sink and somewhere to dry the brushes. You can pick this product up for $8 on the Sephora website.

I have come a long way since my days of washing my makeup brushes with shampoo (or simply not washing them at all) but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. There is something therapeutic about the cleaning process and knowing it is prolonging the life of my brushes.

What is your brush cleaning process? Have you tried any of these products? Have any thoughts, questions, or comments? Let me know! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Rub a Dub Dub – Bath Time For Your Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

