Brand Alert & Product Review: Beautycounter and why being in the know is important

It’s funny how you can go so long without ever hearing about a brand, and then once it is on your radar, you begin to see it popping up everywhere! Beautycounter was one of those brands for me. As a lover of all-natural skincare and makeup products, I was surprised I hadn’t heard of this brand!

Launched in 2013, Beautycounter’s mission is to create products that are high-performing and significantly safer for your health. The founders of Beautycounter found that the general assumption about beauty and skincare products was that if they were safer, they wouldn’t perform as well. They don’t want women to have to compromise on efficacy or safety for personal care or products they use for their children. Beautycounter’s “Never List”, available on their website, lists questionable ingredients regularly used in mainstream beauty and skincare products.

beautycounter

When Carley (@carleymarissa), a local consultant with Beautycounter, reached out to me on Instagram, I was pleased to see the commitment to “better beauty” across their website and social media accounts.

Carley sent me the Lengthening Mascara to test and review. When I received the mascara in the mail, I immediately fell in love with the packaging. The slim tube and navy and gold color scheme is simple and lovely. I like the length of the wand and the type of spoolie that come with it.


The product description explains that since the mascara is made with organic oils and shea butter, it conditions the lashes when applied. I did find this product to be much less drying on my lashes than some other mascaras I have tried in the past. The shade is soft black so it isn’t too dramatic or dark. Personally, I prefer my mascaras to be jet black in order to better blend with false lashes. However, for a simple, every day look, this mascara fits the bit.


If you’re looking for a volumizing mascara, this is probably not the product for you. I personally prefer thicker mascaras that add a lot of depth and volume. This formula was thinner and while it defined and lengthened individual lashes, it didn’t add that volume I’m normally looking for. As I said, for a simple, every day look, this mascara is great. One particular use for this mascara for me over the past couple weeks has been to use it on my lower lashes. Sometimes I find that my volumizing mascaras are too clumpy for my lower lashes, but this mascara is ideal for this purpose.


Some reviews I found online noted that the mascara was difficult to remove. I did not find this to be the case. I’m used to having to work to get some of my long-lasting makeup products removed so I didn’t notice anything different when using this product. I use the Garnier Skin Active Micellar Cleansing Water each night to remove my makeup and never need to use more than one cotton round to do so!

Overall, I really enjoyed reviewing this product. While this mascara will not be replacing my wide array of products I use from various brands, I will be adding it as a lower lash and every day, fresh-faced look mascara.

Once Beautycounter was on my radar, I started seeing it everywhere! On a trip to my local Target, I noticed the large end-cap display and upon returning a week later, saw that some of the products were sold out! During their first week on Target’s website, some Beautycounter products sold out there as well.

Needless to say, Beautycounter’s mission truly aligns with what I find important in the beauty industry. While not all the products I use are all-natural, I have a true passion for trying to incorporate more of them into my daily routine. I’m so happy to have been introduced to Beautycounter and look forward to trying more of their products soon!

Have you tried Beautycounter’s products? What are your favorite natural “better beauty” brands? Let me know in the comments below!

Beautycounter’s website
Carley’s Instagram
Beautycounter’s Instagram
Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

